Other

Livin’ In The Jungle

Man, talk about a one hundred and eighty degree turn. A month ago I was puttering around with virtually nothing to do on a daily basis. Now, as well as having a full-time job, I’ve got freelance and DFM tasks as well as trying to get back into my exercise routine… I recall saying once that “I could do graphic design all day, every day,” and while I still believe I could — in theory — this recent workload that’s grown to rather impressive sizes is something of a wake up call. 

It’s been a bit of a shock coming from lazy days waking up at noon and messing around until three or four in the morning, moving to my new schedule of waking up at 7:30 am, hitting the road to drive to work just after 8:00, working from 9 – 5 pm, drive and arrive home at approx. 6:00 pm, exercising until 7:00 or 7:30, eating dinner and then working some more and keeping up w/ the internet until 10:00 or 10:30 pm. After all of this, I promptly close my laptop, pour myself a drink and throw on something to blankly stare at as I attempt to wind down before going to bed. And then it’s a repeat until the weekend. (If you found that listing of my daily schedule exhausting, that’s an intended effect.)

Anyways, while this post’s title is relevant to the subject, it’s more particularly a reference to my new favourite album: Scandalous by Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears. With a foundation in funk and rock and a mix of blues, this album is seriously some of the best, funnest music I’ve listened to in years. Skipping only a single song in the eleven track version I have, it’s solid from front to back; that being said, there are some favourites of mine, including I’m Gonna Leave You, She’s So Scandalous and Mustang Ranch but, honestly, it’s a bit of a misdirection to list only three. I discovered this gem after a trip down to Victoria with a buddy when we happened upon a concert poster on our way to a pub. I stopped because I recognized the name Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings from a funk compilation I bought back in college — the idea that some old-school inspired funk was going to be playing in town was enough for me to proclaim this show a must-see. With a little research into the show and the opening act, Black Joe Lewis et al, it’s now been more than a week and I’ve listened to the majority of the album every day. (Yeah, I’m aware I’m toying with the potential outcome of having over-listened to it, but right now I’m a junky with an endless supply. Of rockin’ funk.)

And to close, I say get yourself a copy of Scandalous. Funk Yeah!

Standard

Leave a Reply

