Other

Slowly But Surely

You know those projects that seem to take forever? You begin, reach a certain point where you either run into an issue or simply no longer like the direction it’s taking, decide to trash it all and start over again and then repeat a few times. Weeks pass. Months. You continue plugging away until finally, you can sit back and say, “I think I’m done.” But just then you realize that, surely, after all this time and your acceptance of the fact that this project would never end, “There must be something I missed.” You pull out your fine tooth comb and go over everything, spotting a few things that could’ve been left but, since you’re there, you fix them. And then a weight is lifted almost instantly as you put the brush / pen / mouse / whatever down and tell yourself it’s complete. 

Well, I just experienced that. After some time torturing myself trying to learn Javascript, I put that aside and threw my complete faith in something more familiar, HTML and CSS, to accomplish my personal site redesign. And boy am I happy I did, because frankly, I’d probably still be learning the basics of Javascript and slowly coming to the realization that I don’t need it to accomplish virtually all of what I want to do.

So without further ado, check it out! I’d go into more detail regarding my approach but the wound is too fresh to prod any further; I may write something up in the near future but it’s not all that complicated: a more flexible four column layout based on the two column layout of my previous site. Why are you still reading this?! Seriously, check it out! Please?

(Next on my list is a redesign of this blog using my own skill — no more of these prepared templates. But don’t hold your breath, I don’t want to be responsible for any cases of death by asphyxiation.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

