Other

Where You At?

Not exactly a model for output, am I? After making a point to try and get my Spare Change project up and running at full steam, I have so far failed quite miserably; after the busy days I had last week my mind was simply exhausted.

The pub gig I mentioned recently went without a hitch, as anticipated. I made a few very minor mistakes but I doubt, unless you knew what I intended to do, you would notice. The after party went into the wee hours of the morning — I believe I was back home at 4:30 or 5 am, but can’t quite recall to be honest. With the exception of a few parties, no more serious gigs are booked, but Gio usually waits until a week or so before to mention it.

Since then the company myself and another friend are starting is getting rolling: Business cards have been ordered from Studio On Fire, one of the finest letterpress and design studios I’m aware of; our website is being coded as we speak; and we’re set for a meeting with a friend’s acquaintance whom is apparently quite market savvy. (I’m really stoked to see these business cards. They printed my personal ones, which unfortunately I don’t have a good photo of, but they’re real sexy. 220lb cotton stock, Pantone Cyan on both sides and the edges of the card. Mmm.) In other work news I’ve always wanted to design a magazine, which has finally come to fruition with a client’s new publication aimed at independent travel. It’s going to be fairly locally-based, but I’m excited for the opportunity.

Well that sums up this update. I’m on the fence as to whether or not I’m going to try and continue the Spare Change project — I’m considering other ideas, perhaps a weekly installation, that would be a little more realistic for my schedule as of late. I’ve got a post that’s been in the works for a while regarding our written language (heady sounding, huh?) that should see the light of day this week.

Stay tuned. Or don’t. But I’d like it if you did.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Where You At?

  1. Dee says:

    I enjoy these “brain droppings,” even if they are few and far between. (If you don’t get the reference, Google it. Go ahead, I’ll wait.)

    I also like the new banner, and would like to know the story behind the new “confirmed handsome man” designation. If you don’t mind sharing, that is.

    • Thanks Dee; I’m glad someone enjoys them. I do enjoy creating them (most of the time), so maybe I should just buck up and continue. And I did have to Google your reference. (A little embarrassing, though I’ve only recently come to appreciate Carlin’s work. I used to think he joked about poop and farts too much, which he does, but he’s got some great material.)

      I’m glad you like the new banner, though the fuzziness is bothering me quite a bit. (I hope to rectify that shortly.) The “confirmed handsome man” comes from the night I played my most recent gig: some high school friends were there and one of them and her mother were quite adamant that I had become “a handsome young man”, much to my disagreement of course. That and I find people giving themselves relatively useless designators to be pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

