Stuff I'm Thinking About

It’s Official

sound-the-horns

As the headline says, it’s official: I’m working as a freelance graphic designer. And with no work for the next week it’s a bit of a different start than I was anticipating. Perhaps all my confidence about being on the outskirts of the recession was a little unfounded, but risks need to be taken — the old “If you don’t try, you never know” thing.

I have to say, though, that it feels amazing to be the one behind the wheel. After more than two and a half years working at a small, very friendly design firm in my hometown, things sort started to drag on. Monday to Friday, ten o’clock to five o’clock plugging away in front of a computer eventually got a little too old. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I was waking up every morning and staring myself in the mirror for twenty minutes musing on how utterly dull my days are. (Alright, there may have been one or two.) But it’s that point you reach where you just need a change. And I’m ready for it, whatever form it comes in. Even if it’s catching up on my video games.

Standard

2 thoughts on “It’s Official

Leave a Reply

