Stuff I'm Digging

Unwigged, But Still Hilarious

Caught the opening show of Spinal Tap: Unwigged & Unplugged in Vancouver last weekend. I was a little skeptical towards the opening moments of the show, but it was totally worth it.

When I read the words Spinal Tap and Vancouver, I jumped on the tickets immediately. An undying fan of the movie, this seemed like a dream I had never had come true: I would get to see the infamous Spinal Tap live. Live! Then a few days after buying the tickets I decided to do a bit more research to see what the show had in store. That’s when I discovered the ‘Unwigged & Unplugged’ sub-title of the show. Shit.

A friend and I had grande illusions of dressing as uber metal fans, sporting tight jeans, ragged sleeveless metal shirts and big wigs, rocking out to some of the best metal ever recorded. Obviously this all changed when the performers themselves wouldn’t be donning such costumes. Apprehension began to build as I considered what drab, and borderline sacrilegious events might take place on this approaching night.

After consideration however I figured it wouldn’t be that bad. These guys are responsible for a lot of hilarious material, so what’s the worst they could do? And that was the right mentality. They played great acoustic renditions of some Tap hits as well as some of David and Nigel’s earlier material as The New Originals and upwards. There were some tunes from their other movies (A Mighty Wind, Waiting for Guffman) as well as a few new tunes. All in all, a really enjoyable show. Oh, and I picked up a sweet shirt showing my exact inner structure.

Standard

Leave a Reply

